Michael Smith: Back to Basics Review

I was given the pleasure of reviewing a copy of Michael Smith’s Back to Basics cookbook. If you are not yet familiar with Michael Smith, he is the best selling author of six cookbooks and also the host of several Food Network TV shows including Chef Michael’s Kitchen, Chef at Home and Chef Abroad. Michael lives in Prince Edward Island with his family.
This has to be one of the neatest cookbooks I have ever read. It is loaded with large, mouth watering photographs and contains a great variety of recipes. The recipes are broken down into salads, chicken, beef, pork and lamb, fish, pasta, sides and baking. I love how Michael constantly encourages us to add a bit of our own personality to his recipes (which is so important in cooking!).
I love the way he writes his cookbook. I felt like I had him standing beside me and talking to me (no numbered directions in this cook book!). It gave me the confidence to experiment with his recipes and feel confident that they would turn out fantastic. 
I know that I love to have an idea of the types of recipes included in a cookbook before I purchase it so here are some of the names of the recipes that I fell in love with: Caribbean Braised Chicken with Sweet Potato Mash, Thai Chicken Broth with Sweet Potato and Cilantro, Pasta with Roasted Tomatoes, Bells Peppers and Goat Cheese, Tomato Basil Carbonara and so much more!
You can purchase the recipe book here.

Michael Smith’s Back to Basics is also featured on Penguin Canada’s December Daily Delight – have you been entering daily to win free books?  You can still enter here now.

Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in order to facilitate this review. All opinions expressed are my own. 

cvegnad

View more posts from this author
22 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
savannah
8 years ago

I have a cook book addiction! My hubby doesn&#39;t mind though he is always getting to try new foods.<br />From the couple of recipes you listed I would love to try and make the Thai Chicken Broth with Sweet Potato and Cilantro! It sounds so yummy I&#39;ll def, be checking out this cook book 🙂

Curtis Giroux
8 years ago

Used to watch Michael Smith on the food channel, a lot of his recipes look great and at times he make some really healthy dishes; I would totally give this cook book a read.

NetWorkingWitches
8 years ago

I love photos in cookbooks. The photos you showed are beautiful. Michael Smith is new to me but I would love to try something new and different. This would help jostle up our same old same old menu.

Becky Lyons Borgia
8 years ago

Yum! This post is making my mouth water! Those pictures are phenomenal. Everything looks and sounds so delicious.

Dina Farmer
8 years ago

I love cookbooks! This post makes me want to purchase the book. Does it come on kindle? Although the photographs alone might be worth purchasing a tangible version.

Jennifer Van Huss
8 years ago

I can&#39;t cook worth a darn and rely heavily on cookbooks! This looks like a great one! I heard he is an amazing cook!

GossipMoms
8 years ago

My daughter love cookbooks, I would have to try to pick her up this one

Cyndi Buchanan
8 years ago

The thai chicken broth sounds amazing! I love thai food!

Sara-Jayne Jones
8 years ago

This is a perfect gift for my husband. I wish I could say I would benefit from it but I&#39;m hopeless!

Charisse Murray
8 years ago

i would love how to do quick and easy recipes and have my family fall in love with me over the mouth watering food. thank for the review.

Wood Arts Universe
8 years ago

Fabulous!!! This cookbook has great recipes.. I have a great collection of cookbook..

Pauline
8 years ago

Thank you so much for the recommendation Carla! My mom loves to cook and she collects cookbooks! I&#39;ll definitely tell about this this to her.

Elizabeth Carr
8 years ago

This looks great! I love to cook, but am not creative at all, and usually end up cooking the same handful of recipes for my family. I need to look into this book.

Shanna
8 years ago

I&#39;ve been meaning to add a few cookbooks to my collection and this might be one of my next ones!

Aio Kona
8 years ago

I love spending time in the kitchen and the best rewards are the sighs of pleasure I get from my family. I will try to find a copy of Michael Smith&#39;s cookbook in our local bookstore. I hope I find one. Does he have an online copy I could download? Thank you for sharing this, Carla. It is a good find.

Jennifer Williams
8 years ago

I would love to check this out, I love to cook and try different cook books. Gettin gback to basics would be great.

Bismah Abdelgawad
8 years ago

I have never heard of this man. I like cookbooks that have recipes I have never tried before. It is nice to have a menu change from time to time.

Corinne Schmitt
8 years ago

I love ethnic food, but hate experimenting with new ingredients. I love that this cookbook seems to offer a diverse range of recipes using basic ingredients. I&#39;ll have to check this one out.

Ronnie E.
8 years ago

Love the chalkboard pictures! It adds a homey-touch to it. Are the recipes really &#39;simple&#39;? I&#39;m up for an invitation to dinner to try the food! 🙂

Liz @ A Nut in a Nutshell

He&#39;s new to me but from how you describe his style, I think I&#39;d enjoy his cookbooks very much!

Theseller frank
8 years ago

I&#39;m not used to read or use cook books, but this one seems interesting, thanks

Cathy C
8 years ago

OMG this book looks incredible based on the pictures alone! I love to flip through cookbooks looking at all the pictures. The pictures make me want to try new recipes! Thanks for sharing your review Carla!