Warriors (Mud, Rocks and Trees Book Four) Book Review

Warriors (Mud, Rock and Trees Book Four)

In Warriors, the three heroes are thrown into circumstances they never would have chosen or even imagined, the teens must adapt or die. Have they forgotten their true mission?

Warriors (Mud, Rock and Trees Book Four)

About Warriors

Let the battle begin! The vast Tzoladian army clashes with the Karsonian confederation in the valley of Mt. Sarmos. But the stakes are higher than a mere fight for power between countries. As the cruel emperor intensifies his persecution of the “subhumans,” the three chosen youths make tough choices that will decide the fate of the world.

Amanki is a soldier fighting for an empire that wants him dead. After losing her freedom and her seal, Brina faces the ruthless leader of the Sparaggi tribes. Tuka is surrounded by intrigue. Plots of assassination abound.

Thrown into circumstances they never would have chosen or even imagined, the teens must adapt or die. Have they forgotten their true mission?

My Thoughts

In this installment of the Mud, Rocks and Trees Series are heroes turn into warriors – coming in to their true potential and powers. It was a thrilling ride from start to finish!

In this novel, we learn of several plans to wipe out the “subs” and even plots of betrayal of supposed friends all over the glory and power of the throne and seals. Our three main characters and their family and teacher are pushed to their physical, emotional and mental limits in this book.

This book finds, Amanki on the front lines fighting for a King who wants him and his people dead. Despite this, they were still dedicated to the cause and it was because of their special abilities and web feet that they escape the betrayal of their own people and any slaughter by their enemies. Amanki emerges as a true leader but with a little bit of hesitance as he is not too sure how he is supposed to lead. Fair enough because not too long ago he was just a young man who was taking care of his family! His people find out that he carries the seal and that he will be their protector and leader (a role he finds difficult like so many would) but that he accepts with grace.

Brina becomes a warrior and is actually part of the people who were fighting against Amanki! I almost believed that she had given up hope for her quest in this novel but instead she had learned to adapt to her surroundings. The once well protected and somewhat naïve Brina, learned how to manipulate others to belief in her and follow her guidance. This allowed her to save Amanki from the warrior tribe and again untie with him later on in the novel.

Our third heroes brother has taken a job in the palace where he is forced to spy and is witness to quite a few horrific acts that make you squirm! They are not too graphic so no worries there for younger readers.

Our once naïve, young heroes have now truly come into their own strengths and have dealt and grown from betrayal, murder and hate. Two have united and the re-appearance of the third brings hope. While there was death, betrayal and lies in this novel, I felt hopeful near the end. I feel like the three young adults can truly accomplish this most difficult path that they are on. This is a well written exciting installment in this series that leaves you feeling hopeful and wanting more.

You can purchase a copy of this book on Amazon.

Rating: 5/5

About the Author

R.A. Denny started writing epic fantasy novels when, after watching the first Hobbit movie, she began excitedly spouting off information about C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien’s writer’s group called the Inklings and how their greatest fantasy novels were created. One of her sons commented, “We could do that.” She laughed. Then, he turned it into a challenge.

Her unexpected journey had begun. For several years, she continued her day job as a criminal prosecutor and escaped by night to the world of the Tzoladian Empire. Then, she decided to just do what she loved.

She completed writing her six-book epic fantasy series: Mud, Rocks, and Trees. The series should be read in this order: Refugees, Seekers, Captives, Warriors, Visionaries, and then Deliverers.

R.A. enjoys ancient history, board games, and LEGO. That’s the nerd in her. She rides horses, raised flying squirrels and lives with two cats. That’s the animal lover in her. Oh, and did I mention that she loves a challenge? That’s the adventurer in her.

Disclosure: I received a digital copy of this book in order to facilitate this review. All opinions expressed are my own.


View more posts from this author
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x